Advertisement

Waiting on "Connecting to backup destination" for ever

Home Forums Crashplan on Other NAS systems Waiting on "Connecting to backup destination" for ever

Tagged: 

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Matt
    Participant

I’ve been running Crashplan (Home, Free) on Windows 7 for several years without any issues other than automatic upgrades failing to complete once in awhile. (Downloading the latest installer and running that fixes it; a bit annoying but not serious.) However this is a problem: I haven’t had a successful backup in 45 days, the UI sits at “Connecting to backup destination” forever.

The backup destination is a 1TB USB drive with 407 GB free. I can open the drive in Windows Explorer and do whatever like such as create new folders and copy files — Note: I’ve not touched the CP backup folder at all.

I’ve uninstalled and reinstalled Crashplan. I’ve deleted the cache twice, using the CP console and manually (following this guide: http://crashplan.probackup.nl/remote-backup/support/reference/clear-crashplan-cache.html). The destination drive shows as green in the UI.

CP UI waiting to connect, for days and days

What do I do to fix this?

Thanks.

Matt
    Participant

I decided to poke around in the Crashplan folder on the backup drive, and noticed that 3 files are updated today, and 3 more from 2 weeks ago (the last time I cleared cache I think). So clearly it is connecting to the drive in some manner.

folder contents, most recent to top

Advertisement
    an
    an
    Keymaster

Hi,

I’ve been there as well, on my Synology. As I’ve written somewhere in the past, sometimes CrashPlan just won’t run and it’s hard to know why.

If you haven’t gone through the guide below, please do. It will have some steps you might have done already but please read through it, as I believe it covers most of the common fixes for that kind of behavior – particularly the compact part: