Advertisement
CrashPlan Community Forum – Support & Assistance

CrashPlan 4.8.3 Installation Fix for Synology (1436674800483 June 2017)

Affiliate Links

Here we go again, one new version to crash our NAS’s system. Unless you had blocked the autoupgrade process earlier. 😉


In any case, users have reported that the previous solutions worked to sort this out, so do check the link below for successfully updating your Synology:

CrashPlan 4.8.2 Installation Fix for Synology (1436674800482_4 April 2017)

Don’t forget to go over the recommend procedures after installation.

If you run into any other issues, use the comments below or the forum!

Advertisement

12 comments for “CrashPlan 4.8.3 Installation Fix for Synology (1436674800483 June 2017)

  1. Alok
    June 25, 2017 at 02:43

    I resintalled both client (4.8.3) and headless server. I let the headless server upgrade to latest version.
    Changed client ui_info to connect to headless server. Below is the observation:

    – server starts properly.
    – client connects to headless server.
    – client shows “No files selected for backup”. (in the previous version it was selected and uploaded to crashplan server)

    Why has my configuration lost and how can i retrieve it?

    • an
      June 25, 2017 at 08:28

      Most likely you’re not actually connecting to the server; what you’re seeing is the client’s service instance running. Double check the .ui_info files to see if everything is accurate. Don’t forget that the hash inside the ui_info file tends to change a couple of times or so before actually stay static.

      • Alok
        June 25, 2017 at 08:31

        I am sure that I am connecting to the headless server because when I click on select files (to backup), it shows me all the files on the server but nothing is selected.
        This means that i am connecting to the correct service but the cache information about what files need to be uploaded has been lost.

        • an
          June 25, 2017 at 08:33

          Ok – is the backup available through the web restore interface (crashplan.com)?

          • Alok
            June 25, 2017 at 08:41

            I never checked backup from site before. thanks for that. DESKTOP-JEVUTFC is my client machine. i didn’t finish this upload cause i decided to install crashplan on my synology server instead. dataAJ is my synology server. It was uplaoded completely (about 320 GB) more than a week ago. Now it’s showing size as 0 GB.
            https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/fffe1ee759c00aa6494f1f38a22d8b85f5865c8e2d066a6129aebf03f7a02e24.png

          • an
            June 25, 2017 at 08:44

            By your description, your last “good backup” was of a week ago, so I would guess it is related to the second entry on that table. Hit Restore and browse that backup – even though it says “0 files”, if there was data before, it should be available for selection under “check previous versions” or something of that fashion. After you make sure which one is accurate, issue “guid new” from the client and re-adopt the previous correct machine.

          • Alok
            June 25, 2017 at 08:46

            Thanks. I am going to try that. I click on my second computer and then clicked on Modify settings. I can see the file selection is present here. Let me try your suggestion and post my result here.

          • Alok
            June 25, 2017 at 08:54

            It’s working now. I guess I wasn’t aware of the adopt option earlier and missed it last time. Thank you!

          • an
            June 25, 2017 at 08:56

            No worries – the concept is often times easy to miss.

        • an
          June 25, 2017 at 08:36

          In any case, what might solve it is to open CrashPlan’s CLI (double-click the client’s logo) and issue `guid new`.
          You should be logged out and when back in, use the adopt option to select your previous backup.

    • an
      June 25, 2017 at 08:29

      One more thing – uninstalling the client should not be necessary, it will take care of itself fine, upgrades included. You can even disable the CrashPlan service in the client machine, as it is completely unnecessary.

      • Alok
        June 25, 2017 at 08:32

        yes, I have disabled the crash plan service on my client already. thanks.

Leave a Reply

Here's what other Users are reading:

Affiliate Links
Advertisement